McConnell, Schumer Re-Elected To Lead Their Parties In The Senate

Written by Martin Walsh

Senate Majority Leader Mitch McConnell and Senate Minority Leader Chuck Schumer were both re-elected Tuesday to lead their caucuses for another term.

The two parties held leadership elections Tuesday. McConnell will continue to serve as the longest-serving Republican leader in the Senate.

This will be Schumer’s third term as the Democratic leader in the Senate. Although the two know they will lead their party, they do not know who will be in majority, as there are two runoff Senate races in Georgia which will decide who holds the majority.

Republican Georgia Sens. Kelly Loeffler and David Perdue will face a runoff election in January.

Loeffler will face Democratic challenger Raphael Warnock, in her runoff while Perdue faces a rematch against his Democratic challenger, Jon Ossoff.

The two Senate races are predicted to be the most expensive races in U.S. Senate history.

During the elections, Florida Republican Sen. Rick Scott was elected to lead the National Republican Senatorial Committee (NRSC).

Republican Indiana Sen. Todd Young was the last leader of the NRSC.

Republican South Dakota Sen. John Thune was unanimously re-elected as the Republican whip.

McConnell was re-elected unanimously as the Republican leader. The Daily Caller contacted Schumer’s office to ask if he was elected unanimously.

Full Democratic leadership:

  • Leader: Sen. Chuck Schumer (N.Y.)
  • Whip: Sen. Dick Durbin (Ill.)
  • Assistant Leader: Sen. Patty Murray (Wash.)
  • Chair of Democratic Policy and Communications Committee: Sen. Debbie Stabenow (Mich.)
  • Vice-Chair of Conference: Sen. Elizabeth Warren (Mass.)
  • Vice-Chair of Conference: Sen. Mark Warner (Va.)
  • Chair of Steering Committee: Sen. Amy Klobuchar (Minn.)
  • Chair of Outreach: Sen. Bernie Sanders (Vt.)
  • Vice-Chair of DPCC: Sen. Joe Manchin (W.Va.)
  • Secretary: Sen. Tammy Baldwin (Wis.)
  • Vice-Chair of DPCC: Sen. Cory Booker (N.J.)
  • Vice-Chair of Outreach: Sen. Catherine Cortez Masto (Nev.)

Republican leadership:

  • Leader: Sen. Mitch McConnell (Ky.)
  • Whip: Sen. John Thune (S.D.)
  • Chair of Republican Conference: Sen. John Barrasso (Wyo.)
  • Chair of Republican Policy Committee: Sen. Roy Blunt (Mo.)
  • Vice-Chair of Republican Conference: Sen. Joni Ernst (Iowa)
  • Chair of Republican Senatorial Committee: Sen. Rick Scott (Fla.)